APEA logo 

Seventh Annual Conference

APEA 2011

Home  |  Conferences  |  Publications  |  Working Paper Series  |

Pusan National University

Busan, Korea, June 24-25, 2011


| submission | organize a session | special issues of GJE and CEPR |

| participants | accommodation | local transportation | registration | papers | program |

Executive Committee:

Kar-yiu Wong, University of Washington, US (chair)

Joshua Aizenman, University of California, Santa Cruz, US

Shin-ichi Fukuda, University of Tokyo, Japan

Chung Mo Koo, Kangwon National University, Korea



Department of Economics, Pusan National University

Korean Economic and Business Association



Korea Development Institute

Korea Institute for Public Finance

Bank of Korea

Korea Institute for International Economic Policy

Korea Institute of Finance

Busan Metropolitan City

PNU BK Teams (Economics and Business Administration)

Institute for Research & Industry Cooperation, PNU

Busan Development Institute       

Busan Center for International Finance

Institute of Chinese Studies, PNU

Institute of Management of Economics, PNU

College of Economics and Global Business

Busan Regional Innovation Agency

Korea Institute for Health and Social Affairs

Asian Development Bank

Publishers: World Scientific Publishing Co.
Routledge Publishing Co.

John Wiley & Sons Asia Pte Ltd.

Selection Committee:

Chung Mo Koo, Kangwon National University, Korea (co-chair)

Young Jae Kim, Pusan National University, Korea (co-chair)

Iltae Kim, Chonnam National University, Korea

Taek-Dong Yeo, Yeung Nam University, Korea

Chang-Jin Kim, Korea University, Korea

Hyun-Hoon Lee, Kangwon National University, Korea


Program Committee:

Shin-ichi Fukuda, University of Tokyo, Japan (co-chair)

Dae Shik Lee, Pusan National University, Korea (co-chair)

Young Jae Kim, Pusan National University, Korea

Chan Kee Low, Nanyang Technology University, Singapore

Euston Quah, Nanyang Technology University, Singapore

Tom Willet, Claremont Graduate University, US

Alan Wing Keung Wong, Hong Kong Baptist University, Hong Kong


Production Committee: Hyun-Hoon Lee, Kangwon National University, Korea (chair)
Sung Jin Kang, Korea University, Korea

Wong Joong Kim, Kangwon National University, Korea

Hongshik Lee, Korea University, Korea

Jae-Young Lim, Korea University, Korea

Jong Ho Hong, Seoul National University, Korea

Local Organizing Committee:

Young Jae Kim, Pusan National University, Korea (chair)

Gi Seung Kim, Pusan National University, Korea

Geun Mee Ahn, Andong National University, Korea
Sang Choon Kim, Yeung Nam University, Korea
Jong Hwan Ko, Pukyong National University, Korea
Sang Ho Lee, Chonnam National University, Korea

Kiyoun Sohn, University of Incheon, Korea

Young Myung Yoo, Silla University, Korea


APEA is happy to introduce its seventh annual conference. Empirical or theoretical papers in all economic fields, with or without relevance to the Asia-Pacific economies are welcome.

Presenters are encouraged to submit their papers presented in the conference, after appropriate revision, to China Economic Policy Review or Global Journal of Economics.

Previous six APEA conferences were held at Hitotsubashi University, Tokyo on July 30-31, 2005, the University of Washington, Seattle on July 29-30, 2006, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong on July 25-26, 2007, Central University of Finance and Economics, Beijing, China on December 13-14, 2008, University of California, Santa Cruz, California, USA on June 27-28, 2009, and Hong Kong Baptist University, Hong Kong on July 8-9, 2010. Please go to the home pages of these conferences for the programs and the papers presented.

Busan is the second largest city with the biggest port in Korea. It is beautiful and has a lot of things to do, especially in the summer. Click on these pictures to have an idea of the beauty of the city.


Economists are invited to submit papers for presentation in the conference. Papers in all economics fields, either theoretical or empirical, and whether or not directly related to the Asia-Pacific economies, are welcome. A few sessions for graduate students in doctoral programs are planned.

The deadline for submitting a paper (or an extended abstract with at least 300 words) is January 31, 2011. Please send your submission to <submit@apeaweb.org>.

Please include in your submission the following information of you and all other co-authors (if any): name, e-mail address, affiliation, academic rank (or graduate student), and mailing address.


Organizing a Session

Economists are also welcome to organize sessions in the conference. Each session will last for 2 hours, consisting of
a chair person (not necessarily the organizer, but preferably not one of the presenters or discussants);
three to five papers around a common theme;
three to five discussants (If help is needed to identify discussants, please contact us.).

Please submit a proposal by February 28, 2011. The proposal should include the title of each session, and the names, affiliations, academic ranks, and e-mail addresses of all presenters, discussants, the organizer, and the chair. The proposal should be sent to <submit@apeaweb.org>.



All participants have to register. The registration fee is US$250. Graduate students, with proof of their student status, will enjoy a registration fee of US$125. Participants from least developed countries will also receive a 50% discount of the registration fee.


Special Issues

The conference will have a few sessions for papers to be considered for two special issues of Global Journal of Economics (GJE) and China Economic Policy Review (CEPR). These two special sessions consist of invited papers and submitted papers. Those who submit papers to the conference can also submit their papers to these two sessions and the special issues. The details are given as follows:

When submitting papers to the conference, please indicate your interest, if any, in having your paper considered for the special issue (mention which journal) and the special session. Your paper will be sent to the relevant guest editors for reviewing and selection.

Comments on this page are most welcome. Please click here.

This page was last revised on 05/01/12.