APEA Conference

APEA 2005

Hitotsubashi University, Tokyo, July 30-31, 2005

pictures of the days


registration and hotel information

downloadable papers

Executive Committee:

Kar-yiu Wong, University of Washington, US (chair)

Shin-ichi Fukuda, University of Tokyo, Japan

Henry Ho, National Taiwan University, Taiwan

Chung Mo Koo, Kangwon National University, Korea

Eiji Ogawa, Hitotsubashi University, Japan

Selection Committee:

Yin-Wong Cheung, University of California at Santa Cruz, US (chair)

Joshua Aizenman, University of California at Santa Cruz, US (International Finance)

William A. Barnett, University of Kansas, US (Macroeconomics)

Leonard Cheng, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong (International Trade)

Chira Hongladdarom, Foundation for International Human Resource Development, Thailand (Southeast Asian Studies)

Raghbendra Jha, Australian National University, Australia (Asian Economies and Economic Development)

Joosung Jun, Ewha Women's University, Korea (public finance and public economics)

Fadah Khalil, University of Washington, US (Microeconomics and Industrial Organization)

Chang-jin Kim, Korea University, Korea (Econometrics)

Chung-Ming Kuan, Academia Sinica, Taiwan (Econometrics)

Jong-Wha Lee, Korea University, Korea (Asian Studies and Economic Growth)

Justin Yifu Lin, Peking University, China (China Studies)

Ngo Van Long, McGill University, Canada (International Trade)

Yew-Kwang Ng, Monash University, Australia (Public Finance and Welfare Economics)

Judith Thornton, University of Washington, US (Transition Economies and Economic Development)

Stephen Turnovsky, University of Washington (Open Economy Macroeconomics)

Program Committee:

Shin-ichi Fukuda, University of Tokyo, Japan (co-chair)

Chung Mo Koo, Kangwon National University, Korea (co-chair)

Sven Arndt, Claremont McKenna College, US

Zongxian Feng, Xi'an Jiaotong University, China

K. C. Fung, University of California at Santa Cruz, US

Hyeon-seung Huh, Yonsei University, Korea

Chen-Min Hsu, National Taiwan University, Taiwan

Seiichi Katayama, Kobe University, Japan

Chang Jae Lee, Korea Institute for International Economic Policy (KIEP), Korea

Hyun Hoon Lee, Kangwon National University, Korea

Jeff Chien-fu Lin, National Taiwan University, Taiwan

Francis Lui, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong

Euston Teong Ewe Quah, National University of Singapore, Singapore

Hidenobu Okuda, Hitotsubashi University, Japan

Etsuro Shioji, Yokohama National University, Japan

Tulus Tambunan, University of Trisakti, Indonesia

Marie-Aimée Tourres, Institute of Strategic and International Studies, Malaysia

Tran Van Hoa, University of Wollongong, Australia

Yang Yao, Peking University, China

Young Man Yoon, University of Incheon, Korea

Chi-Wa Yuen, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Advisory Committee:

Kyung Tae Lee, President, Korea Institute for International Economic Policy (KIEP), Korea

Un-chan Chung, President, Seoul National University, Korea

Koichi Hamada, Yale University, US

Takatoshi Ito, University of Tokyo, Japan

Ryuzo Sato, New York University, US

Henry Wan, Jr., Cornell University, US

Local Organizing Committee: Eiji Ogawa, Hitotsubashi University, Japan (chair)

This is the first conference organized by the Association.


Economists are invited to submit papers for presentation in the conference. Papers on all economics fields, either theoretical or empirical, are welcome.


Please send the draft of a paper or an extended abstract, together with the e-mail addresses, affiliation, mailing addresses, phone and fax numbers of all co-authors, either via e-mail (highly preferred) or regular mail, by January 31, 2005 to


Professor Yin-Wong Cheung

Department of Economics

University of California, Santa Cruz

Santa Cruz, CA 95064

U. S. A.

e-mail address: cheung@cats.UCSC.EDU


Economists are also welcome to organize sessions in the conference. Each session will last for 2 hours, consisting of four papers (between three and five papers are possible), one chair (not necessarily the same as the session organizer), and the corresponding discussants. Please submit a proposal for one or two sessions to Professor Yin-Wong Cheung by January 31, 2005. The proposal should include an explanation of the theme and all papers to be presented. The proposal should also give the e-mail and addresses, affiliation, phone and fax numbers of the organizers and all participants to be included.


Final versions for presentation of accepted papers will be due on June 15, 2005.


All participants have to register. Registration fee is US$150, or US$75 for full-time students. Participants from developing countries will get a 50% discount in the registration fee. All participants, except invited guests and speakers, are responsible for their traveling expenses, accommodation cost, and registration fee.

Comments on this page are most welcome. Please click here.

This page was last revised on January 05, 2012.